Get Ready for Paid Sick Leave in Washington State and Minimum Wage Increase
In 2016, Washington voters approved Initiative 1433, which requires employers provide paid sick leave to its employees. Here are the basics:
- Most employees will accrue leave at the rate of one hour for every forty hours worked.
- This includes part-time and seasonal workers.
- Sick leave must be paid at the employees usual hourly rate.
- Unused sick leave can be carried over up to 40 hours.
- Employees are eligible to use sick leave after ninety (90) days of employment.
Sick leave may be used for caring for themselves or for a family member; if a workplace or child's school is closed for a health related reason; or when the absence qualifies under the Domestic Violence Leave Act. Of course, retaliation for the use of this sick time is strictly forbidden
Of course, nothing prevents you, as an employer, from being more generous in your sick time policies.
In addition, the 2017 minimum wage will be raised to $11/hour.
If you have any questions regarding implementation, feel free to contact the Attorneys at Issaquah Law Group. Our attorneys are here to help businesses in Bellevue, Mercer Island, Issaquah, North Bend, Preston, Woodinville, and the rest of the Eastside, to ensure you are compliant with the new rules. We are here to help!